# **TACRAO Strategic Enrollment Management Report**

# Submitted by Committee Chair, Troy G. White, M.Ed. (East Texas Baptist University)

# **SEM Committee Session Planning:**

The 2020-2021 SEM Committee worked virtually through email throughout the year as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Several ideas were discussed for possible sessions, and those ideas were shared to the various VPs for the upcoming 2021 conference in Lubbock.

# 2021 SEM Pre-Conference Workshop:

Still dealing with the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, this year's selection of the SEM workshop was difficult. The committee tossed around a few ideas, but travel restrictions resulted in no presenter. Fortunately, through another colleague, Dr. Michael Chavez from UT Permian Basin was recommended. After reaching out and discussing the topic, I invited Dr. Chavez to present, and he accepted. Unfortunately, Dr. Chavez suffered a serious medical issue several weeks prior to the event, so we were forced to reach out for other options. I worked with TEC and reached out to Dr. Cie Gee from UT San Antonio, who graciously accepted to present on the topic of SEM Project Management. At the time of this report being written, a total of 25 have registered to attend.

# Fred Russell SEM Scholarship:

On July 14, 2021, the SEM Committee sent out a Call for Applications to the TACRAO Listserv for prospective Fred Russell SEM Newcomer Scholarship recipients. Regular reminders were sent up until the deadline of August 17<sup>th</sup>, 2021. A total of 30 applications were received, and on August 18<sup>th</sup>, the SEM Committee members were sent the applications, separated by institution type and position. A Google Forms survey was created as the voting method, and after all members cast their votes, the following were selected as recipients of the scholarship:

- 1. Joshua McGinty University of North Texas Admissions
- 2. Denise Hernandez University of Houston-Victoria Registrar
- 3. Shae Large UT San Antonio Registrar
- 4. Angela Phillips Del Mar College Registrar
- 5. Joseph DaVilla Dallas College Admissions

On September 22<sup>nd</sup>, Jamie Hansard, TACRAO President, sent each recipient an award email, and asked for confirmation of acceptance by September 30<sup>th</sup>. All of the above recipients, except Joseph DaVilla, responded to accept. After several attempts to reach Joseph, it was decided to reach out to the top alternate vote recipient, Brenda Ramirez with Purdue University, who accepted.

- 1. Joshua McGinty University of North Texas Admissions
- 2. Denise Hernandez University of Houston-Victoria Registrar
- 3. Shae Large UT San Antonio Registrar
- 4. Angela Phillips Del Mar College Registrar
- 5. Brenda Ramirez Purdue University Admissions

Each of the recipients will be attending the SEM Pre-Conference Workshop, and the scholarship awards will be presented at the awards luncheon on Monday, November 8<sup>th</sup>.

# Update: (November 11, 2021)

During the SEM Workshop of the 2021 TACRAO Conference, Joseph Davilla indicated he had responded to the initial email. He was able to show a reply icon from the original email sent; therefore, the TACRAO TEC decided it was in the best interest to go ahead and award a scholarship to Mr. Davilla, as well as the 5 recipients listed.

# Notes from the Chair:

I have been honored to serve on this committee filled with great professionals across our state since 2016/17, and chair since 2017/18. Over the past several years, we have been very excited about the new and refreshing topics put forth for the annual Pre-Conference Workshop, as we have attempted to think "outside of the box" on SEM ideas. As I step down as chair of the committee this year, I have full confidence in this trend continuing under the leadership and guidance of Chrissy Gonzalez from Texas A&M University-Texarkana.

#### **SEM Committee Members:**

- Chrissy Gonzalez Texas A&M University-Texarkana Chair, elect
- Brenda Schumann UT Austin
- Nicole Luna UTRGV
- Rebecca Perfecto University of North Texas
- Sherry Wells Lamar University
- Leah Hickman Midwestern State University
- Troy G. White, chair East Texas Baptist University